Dad..I Remember…………

It is almost 11:00 pm in MN right now. I cannot sleep very well. I laid there looking at me ceiling for an hour and just could not figure it out. Over and over in my mind were pictures of my Dad….

He passed away in 2003. I know all little girls think there Dad’s were the best…but I know mine was!! He came into my life when I was 4 years old. See, by blood he would not be considered my Dad…but what is blood anyway?? He was the one who wiped my tears(the ones my Mom couldn’t get to that is, she wiped many herself), helped me learn right from wrong, he taught me to ride a bike ( you should have seen him…he was a very big strong man…running behind me holding only the back of my bike seat…me, yelling ” DON”T LET GO DADDY!”) If he did let go it was only because I was peddling too fast for him to keep up. But funny thing, as soon as I knew he let go…I would fall over! I felt a lot of my strength through my parents. They were my rocks!!

So, I am up late thinking of all this stuff and silly, stupid things you do as a child to hurt your parents. I have to hope not on purpose, but growing up you try things…like growing up faster then you are or should be. You think you know more!! Boy I know now Dad, I sure know now…that was not true…!

I look back at the first time I realized my Dad would not live forever. It is a horrible feeling. You realize this time will end…What will that be like?? Will I forget?? Never!! How could a man that was so strong and tough and selfless and wonderful not live forever?? What will happen to my Mom?? How will she go on without the person that made her heart beat? How can I make life okay for her? Can I keep the memory of him ALIVE in the son we named after him? Will he remember how he loved him soo much? Will he know there was somebody here who wanted to teach him everything he could before he left this world? Will my son remember the wagon he loves so much came from Grandma & Grandpa? Will my son remember that before he could read…before he could talk…Grandpa bought Hooked-on-Phonics so he would be able to read?? Oh, I only pray he will remember how much he was loved by this man called…Grandpa (crapa..lol).

I wish I would have told you more Dad…that I loved you…even though I think I said it everyday!! I wish I would have told you the day you adopted me and gave me your name was one of the happiest days! I never one time felt growing up that you were not blood…I didn’t need the paper to tell me you are!

So, as I sat in the dark with tears in my eyes…thinking of how I miss you so much. I remembered…this is January…this is why I could only think of you Dad.

January like Mom would say is your “Birthday Month”. Ü

You would be 77 years young this month…your life is one I was blessed to be a part of and I thank God everyday for you.

I miss you so much that my heart hurts and the lump that sticks in my throat makes it seem like I cannot swallow ever again. People tell me all the time that the pain gets easier. I think they say that because they just didn’t know you!! It isn’t easier. I pray someday I will make you and Mom as proud of me as I am proud to have you two as my Mom & Dad!

I love & miss you Dad!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!

Stanley Perry

1/6/32 – 11/13/03

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~God’s Garden~

God looked around his garden
And He found an empty place.
He then looked down upon this earth,
And saw your tired face.

He put his arms around you
And lifted you to rest.
God’s garden must be beautiful
He always takes the best.

He knew that you were suffering
He knew you were in pain
He knew that you would never
Get well on earth again

He saw that the road was getting rough,
And the hills are hard to climb.
So He closed your weary eyelids,
And whispered “Peace be thine.”

It broke our hearts to lose you
But you didn’t go alone
For part of us went with you
The day God called you home.
Author Unknown

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up: To more than I can be.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up: To more than I can be.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up: To more than I can be.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up: To more than I can be.

You raise me up: To more than I can be.



One Response to “Dad..I Remember…………”

  1. funnyfunnygalssis Says:

    This is beautiful!

    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

