Canning 101 FUN!!!

This is the day we got to can beans!!

We canned Dilly Beans and regular beans…

I have a friend (the sweetest person I know) that taught another sweet friend and I how to can fruits & veggies. They are the same gals I am doing the Titus 2 Study with.

This is my Sweet gal of Titus 2

This is my Sweet gal of Titus 2

Let me tell you…snapping beans…takes a long time. The girls and I were talking about how people HAD to do this back in the day. It wasn’t a choice like it is now.

This was one of about 20 bowls we snapped!!

This was one of about 20 bowls we snapped!!

I learned so much this day!! I feel like if we still did this today like we did then things would be so much better. Children would be able to help and appreciate what it takes to put food on the table. Our families would be closer because we would work together more. I have been told I was born in the wrong era…I think they may be right. BOOO TO WOMENS LIB!

This is what they look like snapped...oh and they really do snap!! So fun!!

This is what they look like snapped...oh and they really do snap!! So fun!!

The kidos were having fun too!!

The kidos were having fun too!!

This up above is rhubarb that I went with my Titus 2 gal to pick. It doesn’t look anything like what you find in the store when you go to pick it. It has the biggest leaves and frankly I would have thought it was a weed…what a yummy weed lol!!

-)

Here we are in the pressure cooker...one of the gals had a cute lid 🙂

Here they are!! Aren't the beautiful!! Hard work but so worth it...especially with good friends!

Here they are!! Aren't they worth it?? They are when you think of the fun I had with my friends!!

If you have never canned before…let me tell you I completely recommend you do…it is a wonderful memory!!

Leave a Reply

