More Changes in the Forecast

Today is a sad day…

My best friend for over 16 years is moving…three hours away!

On one hand I am so happy for her and her family, this is a great new beginning for all of them. On the other hand I wish they were not going. We have talked about it and promised each other we will go back and forth and visit…but we all know the reality is…lots of phone calls at the beginning, then just a few, then on birthdays. Why is it so difficult to stay in touch?

My life is so different now. I remember when my Dad was alive I felt like nothing would ever change…my life was very consistent. I had all the same people I knew and that was enough. I really feel God is trying to show me changes in my life are okay. I think he is trying to make me grow again and I am feeling the growing pains. I used to get things I lovingly called leg aches when I was a small child. It was me getting taller (my Mom used to say). This year alone, my church family dissolved, my best friend is moving and two of my new friends are selling their homes to move away. I must be preparing to grow into a GIANT!! I don’t want to be a giant… but I guess it isn’t up to me.

I remember being a kid dreaming about being an adult. I couldn’t wait. It was going to be fun…making my own decisions…doing whatever I wanted…when I wanted!! KIDS OF TODAY…DO NOT BE FOOLED! Just because you are an adult doesn’t mean you are in charge. God is….  You just have to remember…even if it feels bad or makes you sad…there is a reason. He has a plan and trust me it is a good plan…he doesn’t make mistakes..

Praise be to the Lord, for he has heard my cry for mercy. The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song. Psalm 28:6, 7

One Response to “More Changes in the Forecast”

  1. funnyfunnygalssis Says:

    Growing Pains are no fun!

    I remember always wanting to grow up, and then when I was in high school staying up til all hours studying I wished my parents would reinstitute my bed time.

    That was my first clue, that life as a grown up was harder than it looked.

    Praise God that He never changes, and He is a friend that we never have to loose touch with! Distance doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

